All Collections
Best Practices
What is Bloom's Taxonomy?
What is Bloom's Taxonomy?

This article will explain what Bloom's Taxonomy is

Rebecca McDougall avatar
Written by Rebecca McDougall
Updated over a week ago

Bloom's Taxonomy was devised in order to create higher level thinking within education. It is a set of six levels used to classify educational learning objectives into levels of complexity and specificity. The six levels of Bloom's Taxonomy are

  • Evaluation

  • Synthesis

  • Analysis

  • Application

  • Comprehension

  • Knowledge

Within Synapse, we've applied Bloom's Taxonomy to our verb picker to allow you to create actionable and effective Learning Objectives. 

Selecting a value from the X and Y of the matrix, you can identify the correct verb based on the learning outcome you are looking to achieve. For example, if you were looking for a learner to understand a process, you would select clarify

Read more in our blog, What is Bloom's Taxonomy, to learn more about how it works and why it's essential to creating effective learning objectives.

Did this answer your question?