When working on a training design as a team, it's important to have visibility and transparency. You should know which action items are assigned to who, and what their deadlines are to help ensure alignment.
Managing this in Synapse is easy for individual collaborators, design owners, and admins. Here are a few ways that you can effectively manage your designs and action items.
A few best practices we've seen for using action items are:
Assign Deadlines: While assigning someone ownership of an action item, setting a deadline helps to manage expectations of when things should be complete.
Communicate Expectations: Tagging someone is a great way to notify that their action is required on a particular element. However, it is important that you also include some context to the action item. For example, should they be adding content, reviewing existing content and making edits, or simply approving?
Resolve Action Items: As action items are completed, have someone on your team responsible for resolving them. The Design Owner will get notified when an action item is resolved. So you could have the individual collaborator complete the action item - or if you want to approve the changes, have that be a responsibility of the Design Owner.
Here are some ways that you can review the outstanding action items on a design:
Visibility on Home Screen
All users will be able to see their outstanding action items on different designs.
Design Level Overview
Within a given design, collaborators will be able to see all of their outstanding action items by clicking on the speech bubble icon in the top right corner of the design. Admins will be able to see all outstanding action items under the "Action Items" section.
Action Items At A Glance
One of the easiest ways to see all of the outstanding action items on your design, is to navigate to the Blueprint and look for anything with an orange circle icon on the top right of the collaboration icon. This indicates an unresolved action item.
When assigning action items, the assignee will also receive a notification via email that will link them back to the card in Synapse.