When working on a training project as a team, it's important to have visibility and transparency. You should know which tasks are assigned to who, and what their deadlines are to help ensure alignment.
Managing this in Synapse is easy for individual collaborators, project owners, and admins. Here are a few ways that you can effectively manage your projects and tasks.
A few best practices we've seen for tasking are:
- Assign Deadlines: While assigning someone ownership of a task, setting a deadline helps to manage expectations of when things should be complete.
- Communicate Expectations: Tagging and tasking someone is a great way to notify that their action is required on a particular element. However, it is important that you also include some context to the task. For example, should they be adding content, reviewing existing content and making edits, or simply approving?
- Resolve Tasks: As tasks are completed, have someone on your team responsible for resolving them. The Project Owner will get notified when a task is resolved. So you could have the individual collaborator complete the task - or if you want to approve the changes, have that be a responsibility of the Project Owner.
Here are some ways that you can review the outstanding tasks on a project:
Visibility on Home Screen
All users will be able to see their outstanding tasks on different projects. You can sort by the My Tasks field and hover over the chat icon for more context on the outstanding task.
Project Level Overview
Within a given project, collaborators will be able to see all of their outstanding tasks by clicking on the Tasks Icon. Admins will be able to see all outstanding tasks under the "Tasks" section.
Tasks At A Glance
One of the easiest ways to see all of the outstanding tasks on your project, is to navigate to the Blueprint and look for anything with an orange circle icon on the top right of the collaboration icon. This indicates an unresolved task.
When assigning tasks, the assignee will also receive a notification via email that will link them back to the card in Synapse.